How do I use my local currency wallet (USD, EUR, GBP)?


Your local currency wallet allows you to store funds denominated in that currency as funds in your Coinbase account. You can use this wallet as a source of funds to make instant purchases. You can also credit this wallet from the proceeds of any sale. This means you can instantly buy and sell on Coinbase, exchanging between your local currency wallet and your digital currency wallets.


In order to activate your local currency wallet, you must:


Set Up a Payment Method

In order to move local currency into and out of your account, you'll need to set up a payment method. These methods will vary depending on your location. More information on various payment types can be found below:


From a linked bank account (US)

  1. Select Accounts from the left side of the page
  2. Select your USD Wallet
  3. Select "Deposit"

Make sure your bank is selected, enter the deposit amount denominated in your local currency, and select "Deposit" to finalize the transaction.

Via SEPA transfer (Europe)

European customers can use the same Deposit button to initiate a SEPA transfer. Use the on-screen instructions provided to send your SEPA transfer. If you have questions or run into trouble, more information on this deposit method is available here


To withdraw local currency from Coinbase, select your local currency wallet from the main screen, and select "Withdraw"
Make sure your desired payment method is selected, enter the amount denominated in your local currency, and select "Withdraw" to finalize the transaction. A confirmation will be displayed and an estimated time of arrival will be provided.

You can check on the status of your deposits and withdrawals at any time by selecting your local currency wallet and viewing the transaction list.

Countries and states with access to local currency wallets

For customers in the US, local currency wallets are only available to states where Coinbase is either licensed to engage in money transmission, where it has determined that no such license is currently required, or where licenses are not yet being issued with respect to Coinbase's business. This includes all US states with the exception of: Wyoming, Hawaii, and Minnesota. 

Supported European countries include:

  • Austria

  • Belgium

  • Bulgaria

  • Croatia

  • Cyprus

  • Czech

  • Denmark

  • Finland

  • France

  • Greece

  • Hungary

  • Ireland

  • Italy

  • Latvia

  • Liechtenstein

  • Malta

  • Monaco

  • Netherlands

  • Norway

  • Poland

  • Portugal

  • Romania

  • San Marino

  • Slovakia

  • Slovenia

  • Spain

  • Sweden

  • Switzerland


Still can't find what you're looking for?

Submit A Request